Books, glorious books.(#favechildrenslit)

Wow!

Just wanted to quickly put some words down about yesterdays outpouring of love for children’s books. I am not a great writer so if bits come across as a bit clichéd or hackneyed, sorry.

This wasn’t a list, this wasn’t a set of texts you’re told you  must read. It was people just saying this is a book I love, nothing more nothing less, just I love this book! It felt entirely personal, each persons entry was about them. I didn’t expect that and to be fair that is what for me made it quite moving.

What I hadn’t really thought about when I posted the first tweet, was that my books had stories. Some of the  books I chose weren’t just books, they were  people, places and times. That didn’t really hit me till @SFsaid posted this,

4375801793

My Dad wasn’t/ isn’t a reader I have shared two books (well 7 because the 2nd one is 6 books) in common with him my entire life. Watership down  and bizarrely the entire ‘Chronicles of Thomas Covenent’ by Stephen Donaldson. I read both because he had read them. Watership down was and still is the only time I’ve talked to my Dad about books. Therefore it’s important to me.

The next was when someone chose  this…

youre-a-bad-man-mister-gum

I will be forever indebted to Andy Stanton. I love this book it’s fab and funny, but I mainly love it because it was the book that stopped reading being a battle, it was the book where, my now 16 year old son, genuinely fell in love with reading. It was laughter, joy and moments that I will forever cherish.

I went back to look at my own choices and everyone in someway was a memory. So for me yesterday was about memories. I didn’t really think explicitly about books in that way till  yesterday. Not in the same way I do with music anyway, I will never be able to listen to ‘Last Goodbye’ by Jeff Buckley without inwardly cringing at it, after singing it at my now wife after an argument. But looking at many of the special books to me, they are special because they are more than the book. ‘Animal farm’ is Mr Williams class in year 4, crying when Boxer was taken away and hating Gary Mountjoy for laughing. ‘Weirdstone of Brisingamen’ is reading by torchlight at my Nan and Grandads. ‘Trainspotting’ is midge bitten in a tent in Glenelg, the first holiday with my wife. ‘Notes from a small Island’ is touring Canada for 6 weeks. ‘Counting Sheep’ is both my boys.

Think what I found out is that books are important. We need to help children find their books, their memories. This set of books should be wildly different in 20 or 30 years time, if it isn’t I really think we may have done something wrong. as @nickswarb tweeted

‘Much prefer #favechildrenslit to imposing a canon of “must reads.”‘

Don’t just read a book, create some memories.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Books, glorious books.(#favechildrenslit)

  1. Pingback: Books, glorious books.(#favechildrenslit) — Being Brave! a first time headteachers blog. – Being Brave! a first time headteachers blog.

  2. That’s absolutely it! Dogger was my son’s favourite book, The Hobbit was the first book I found him reading on his own at 7 because he couldn’t wait for the next night’s instalment and although he was a little toad, if I read to him, he would sit with me for hours as we shared the love of great stories. Both my children are grown now, but sharing books was so much part of their growing up and they still ask me for recommendations and, for both of them, birthdays and Christmases would not be the same without a book from Mum! Also, some years ago now, my daughter bought tickets for us to go the Harry Potter experience which she knew we would both love; when I am even older and greyer, that will be a memory that I treasure. That’s the power of books and reading!
    Thank you for starting this yesterday, it reminded me of some old favourites and made me feel part of a huge family of readers with shared experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Why Picturebooks are Important…TES article archive #1 | Being Brave! a first time headteachers blog.

Leave a Reply

