#20BestPicturebooks Number 10-6

Here is part 3…

 

Number 10

Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of the Species by Sabina Radeva

 

A picture book adaptation of Charles Darwin’s groundbreaking On the Origin of Species, lushly illustrated and told in accessible and engaging easy-to-understand text for young readers. 

On the Origin of Species revolutionized our understanding of the natural world. Now young readers can discover Charles Darwin’s groundbreaking theory of evolution for themselves in this stunning picture-book adaptation that uses stylish illustrations and simple text to introduce how species form, develop, and change over time.

Who’d have thought that “On the Origin of the Species” could be made into a picturebook.

This is beautifully illustrated and accessible. This introduces difficult concepts around Darwin’s work in a way that means all can understand. Now that truly is a remarkable feat.

 

Number 9

Truman by Jean Reidy and Lucy Ruth Cummins

 

An NPR Favorite Book of 2019
A New York Times Best Children’s book of 2019
A Kirkus Reviews Best Picture Book of 2019
A School Library Journal Best Picture Book of 2019

“An enchanting tale of bravery, heroism, and undying devotion.” —The New York Times Book Review

After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day of school, a tortoise named Truman goes on an adventure across the living room and learns to be brave in this thoughtful and heartwarming twist on a first experience story.

Truman the tortoise lives with his Sarah, high above the taxis and the trash trucks and the number eleven bus, which travels south. He never worries about the world below…until one day, when Sarah straps on a big backpack and does something Truman has never seen before. She boards the bus!

Truman waits for her to return.
He waits.
And waits.
And waits.
And when he can wait no longer, he knows what he must do.

Even if it seems…impossible!

There is a reason it’s won so many awards. It’s just utterly wonderful. Heroism comes in many forms but Truman really is a hero. A small journey made truly epic. Just delightful.

 

Number 8

Lights on Cotton Rock by David Litchfield

There was no book-bio quote on Goodreads so I’m just going to make one up. Having spent a brilliant day exploring this with Karl Duke. I just want to say it’s a book that warrants exploration and discussion

Lights on Cotton Rock is a story of families, dreams, space travel and time. Ultimately it is about helping us realise that the thing we most want may be closer than we think. Beautifully told almost part graphic novel at point. Litchfield art truly does take us to another place. (He is the master of creating and using light in his art, the pages almost glow.)

 

Number 7

A Mouse Called Julian by Joe Todd Stanton

Julian is a mouse who is perfectly happy avoiding other animals. They seem to just get in the way and sometimes even try to eat him! But one day, Julian has an unexpected dinner guest…When the fox tries to sneak into Julian’s burrow for a tasty bite of mouse, it finds itself stuck headfirst in Julian’s front door!

This a joyous Aesop like fable about unlikely friendships but also about being happy being you. In turns funny and poignant, Todd Stanton plays that clever trick of making us care about Julian.

Rich, detailed vibrant, illustration bring this joyful tale to life. Just delicious.

Number 6

Look Up by Nathan Bryon and Dapo Adeola

Meet Rocket–a plucky aspiring astronaut intent on getting her community to LOOK UP! from what they’re doing and reach for the stars in this auspicious debut picture book. 

A comet will be visible tonight, and Rocket wants everyone to see it with her–even her big brother, Jamal, whose attention is usually trained on his phone or video games. Rocket’s enthusiasm brings neighbors and family together to witness a once-in-a-lifetime sighting. Perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and young science lovers excited about the 50th anniversary of the moon landing, Look Up! will inspire readers of all ages to dream big as it models Rocket’s passion for science and infectious curiosity.

Author Nathan Bryon, an actor and screenwriter, and Dapo Adeola, a community-minded freelance illustrator, bring their fresh talents, passion, and enthusiasm to the picture book medium

Rocket is my absolute favourite picturebook character this year. This is a story for now. The message is clear about the dangers of technology and how they might make us miss the real world, but this isn’t done in a heavy-handed way. Instead we get placed in the middle of a wonderfully real family, doing everyday family thing. Rocket is totally that annoying younger sibling and Jamal is that growing up to soon older brother. The story is fabulous , but the art takes the book to another level bringing the family to vivid life.

It’s a book full of love and humour totally not to be missed.

 

Links to other #20BestPicturebooks2019 post

#20BestPicturebook2019 Numbers 5-1

#20BestPicturebooks2019 Numbers 15-11#20BestPicturebooks2019 Numbers 20-16

1 thought on “#20BestPicturebooks Number 10-6

  1. Pingback: Year 1-Year 6 Picturebook lists so far… (links) | Being Brave! a first time headteachers blog.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s