Why Picturebooks are Important…TES article archive #1

Here is a link to the first article I wrote for the TES…
“This primary headteacher and self-confessed picture book obsessive offers some tips on using them in the classroom

I love picture books. I would go as far as to say I am obsessed by them. And because of that – because I use them all the time in my teaching and rave about them in our school – I know something that those schools less keen on picture books do not: they are an absolutely essential tool for boosting literacy. 

But let’s clarify what I mean by picture books. I’m talking about books where the art and the words work together to create meaning so that, without either, the story is nonsensical.”

Why primary schools need to embrace picturebooks to boost Literacy.

Also linked in any reading related blogs…

Reading…(The importance of knowing books)

A Reading Adventure…All adventures come to an end.

Books, glorious books.(#favechildrenslit)

Picture This… Why I Love Picture Books.

#BestBookOpenings-downloadable

Leave a comment